Home > About Us > News > 90th President

90th APEGNB president

Mon March 1, 2010

UNB Professor Bruce Broster, P.Geo., Elected 90th President

Dr. Bruce Broster, P.Geo., (right) a geology professor at the University of New Brunswick, was elected the 90th president of Engineers and Geoscientists New Brunswick during their annual meeting held recently in Moncton. Dr. Broster, receiving the Chain of Office from past president, Dr. Eldo Hildebrand, P.Eng., is the association’s first elected geoscientist president.

Broster says he is honoured to be representing New Brunswick’s 5,000 engineers and geoscientists. “Our association is one of the largest regulatory bodies in the province. For the past 90 years, we have set and enforced the educational, ethical and technical standards for our professions. As a result, New Brunswickers can confidently rely on the work our members undertake to improve their quality of life.”

Broster is quick to remind people that the work of engineers and geoscientists is crucial to building a prosperous future for Canadians.

“Governments around the world are making engineering and science the cornerstone of their economic strategies in light of the global financial meltdown. New Brunswick needs to continue their support of our professions and unequivocally establish them as central to the province’s health and wealth.”

Broster is also excited about plans to celebrate the association’s 90th anniversary. “This is a milestone year for us and we intend to showcase the pride in our professions and the contributions of our members. In addition to a new promotional campaign, Engineers and Geoscientists New Brunswick will soon be announcing a substantial legacy scholarship to encourage New Brunswick’s aboriginal students to pursue careers in engineering or geoscience. It’s going to be a memorable year for me and my colleagues on APEGNB’s Council.”

Broster is joined on APEGNB Council by eight other newly elected and appointed officials:

Darryl Ford, P.Eng., a departmental director with Fundy Engineering in Saint John, was elected vice-president of APEGNB.

Tom MacNeil, P.Eng., the head of environmental engineering for AMEC, was elected councillor for APEGNB’s Fredericton District.

Paul Holah, P.Eng., manager of project services for Fluor Canada, was elected councillor for APEGNB’s Saint John District.

Mathieu Breau, MIT, an employee of MCW Maricor, was elected councillor for APEGNB’s Moncton District.

Marc Laforge, P.Eng., branch manager of Gemtec in Grand Falls, was appointed councillor for the APEGNB’s Northwestern District.

Ken Thibodeau, MIT, who is employed with Xstrata in Bathurst, was appointed councillor for APEGNB’s Northeastern District.

Annie Daigle, P.Eng./P.Geo., a hydrogeologist with the New Brunswick Department of Environment, was elected geoscientist-at-large.

George Filliter, LL.M., a Fredericton-based lawyer, was appointed to a two-year term as Lay Councillor.