Home > About Us > News > 92nd APEGNB President

92nd APEGNB President

Thu March 22, 2012

Fredericton engineer, Ms. Jean Boudreau, P.Eng., Elected 92nd President

Darryl Ford Jean Boudreau Lowres

Ms. Jean Boudreau, P.Eng., a senior transportation engineer for GEMTEC Limited in Fredericton, was elected 92nd president of Engineers and Geoscientists New Brunswick (APEGNB) during their annual meeting held recently in Edmundston. 

Ms. Boudreau says she is honoured to be representing New Brunswick’s 5,500 engineers and geoscientists. “Our association is one of the largest regulatory bodies in the province. For 92 years, New Brunswickers have trusted us to set and enforce the standards necessary to be a licensed practitioner of engineering and geoscience in this province. It’s a mandate we take very seriously. Protecting the public interest is at the forefront of everything we do.”

Ms. Boudreau also reminds people that the work of engineers and geoscientists is central to ensuring the health and wealth of New Brunswick. “We are the problem-solving professionals,” says Ms. Boudreau. 

“Governments around the world are making engineering and science the cornerstone of their economic strategies in light of the global financial meltdown. New Brunswick needs to continue their support of our professions and unequivocally establish them as central to the province’s health and wealth.”

It’s a big ask but Ms. Boudreau says she and her colleagues are “engineered for success. We have the education, experience and innovative ideas needed to deliver game-changing results.”

Ms. Boudreau is joined on APEGNB Council by eight other newly elected and appointed officials:

Mark Bellefleur, P.Eng., a project manager with Genivar in Moncton, was elected vice-president of APEGNB.

Tammy Lamey, P.Eng., a highway design engineer for the New Brunswick Department of Transportation, was elected councillor for APEGNB’s Fredericton District.

Marc Laforge, P.Eng., branch manager for GEMTEC Limited in Grand Falls, was appointed councillor for APEGNB’s Northwestern District.

Véronique Haché, P.Eng., a strategic sourcing manager for Midland Transport, was elected councillor for the APEGNB’s Moncton District.

Matt Hayes, P.Eng., LL.B., a partner with McInnes Cooper Law, was elected councillor for APEGNB’s Saint John District.

Annie Daigle, P.Eng./P.Geo., a hydrogeologist with the New Brunswick Department of Environment, was re-elected geoscientist-at-large.

George Filliter, LL.M., a Fredericton-based lawyer, was re-appointed to a two-year term as a public representative.

Established in 1920, Engineers and Geoscientists New Brunswick (APEGNB) serves and protects the health and wealth of New Brunswickers by regulating the practice of engineering and geoscience in the province. The Association has more than 5,500 members and is affiliated with Engineers Canada (which represents approximately 280,000 engineers across Canada) and Geoscientists Canada (which represents approximately 12,000 geoscientists across Canada).