

Awards Committee Terms of Reference

Mandate

The mandate of the Awards Committee is to propose candidates and recommend changes to the awards criteria, as necessary for Council's approval.

Composition:

The Chair shall be the immediate Past President of the Association. The balance of the committee, to be approved by Council, shall include three former presidents as well as one geoscientist. The committee will consist of at least five but not more than eight members, with a focus on ensuring diversity of members.

Aside from the Chair, Committee members shall be appointed by Council for a 3-year term with the potential of being reappointed twice, to a maximum of nine years.

Duties:

The Awards Committee shall:

- 1. receive nominations from Members and/or Awards Sub-Committee for the Association awards,
- 2. review nominations, in accordance with award criteria and recommend nominees to Council for approval;
- 3. receive recommendations for national awards, develop and review the necessary submissions, and recommend to the Executive Committee for approval;
- 4. notify award recipients; and
- 5. submit an annual report to the membership announcing the award recipients.

The Awards Sub-Committee shall:

- 1. ensure an initial call for nominations is communicated to members no later than June 1st each calendar year;
- 1. receive nominations from members for Association Awards;
- 2. review and consider potential candidates for awards;
- 3. work with APEGNB staff and potential candidates to complete nomination submissions; and,
- 4. submit nominations to the Awards Committee for consideration.

The current awards are:

- C.C. Kirby Award
- L.W. Bailey Award
- APEGNB Presidents' Award
- Support of Women in Engineering Award
- Young Professional Achievement Award
- Community Leadership Award
- Individual Award for Technical Excellence
- Corporate Award of Excellence
- Outstanding Educator Award
- Honorary Membership